Maryhill 0-2 Annbank United

Lochburn Park saw its first WoSFL action but early goals doom the Hill.

players from each side observe a minutes silence for Remembrance Day.

Match Report by Campbell Finlayson:

It’s two defeats from two for Maryhill after a disappointing start saw them go down 2-0 to Annbank United at Lochburn Park.

After keeper Mark McRoberts missed the ball, it was lobbed back across him for the Annbank forward to head the ball home after just ten minutes and that lead was doubled soon after, McRoberts fouling an away player in the box before seeing the penalty fly past him.

Jay Mclnally was in on goal for the Hill but the referee pulled play back to give a free-kick, much to the annoyance of the players, Jamie Gray seeing his effort tipped over the bar. Gavin Naismith also tested the keeper after good work from Gray down the left to set him up.

Annbank though were still causing problems for the Hill defence and after they failed to clear their lines, the visitors saw a shot fly just past the post before dragging another effort wide minutes later.

The second half saw less action but what it did see certainly caused plenty of drama. It was the away side who were first to threaten, seeing a shot come back off the post inside the opening five minutes.

Just like last week at Renfrew, the Hill came to life with 20 minutes to play and were awarded a penalty after Mclnally was brought down in the box. Ged Dobbs took the spot-kick but he could only fire the ball against the bar.

The substitute had another effort soon after but it flew high over the goal as Maryhill failed to score again. Next week they’ll hope to change that when they make their first trip to Ayrshire this season to take on Ardeer.

Maryhill line-up: Mark McRoberts, Craig McEwan, Tony Etherson, Gavin Naismith, Luke Martin, Roan Fitzpatrick, Darren Kennedy, Jamie Gray, Ryan Wallace, Craig Stevenson, Jay McInally. Subs: Garry Black, Ross Lyden, Matthew Meechan, Cammy O’Neill, Brian Turner, Ged Dobbs

Annbank United line-up: D Markey, T Sloan, M Brown, J Dunlop, S Bates, L Sloan, S McLelland, M Dyer, A Orr, M Ewing, J Ryan

Leave a Reply